Akaehomen Ibhadode

University of Benin

AKII IBHADODE is a distinguished Professor of Manufacturing Engineering and former Shell Professor of Lightweight Automobile Engine Development (2016 - 2020). He was the Vice-Chancellor of the Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Nigeria from 2015 - 2020. He obtained a B.Sc. (Mechanical Engineering), University of Lagos in 1981, M.Eng. (Production Engineering), University of Benin in 1984, both in Nigeria, and a Ph.D. (Mechanical Engineering), University of Birmingham, United Kingdom in 1987. He has pioneered a number of researches leading to patents and industrial products. He was the winner of the Nigeria Prize for Science (2010) of the Nigerian Academy of Science sponsored by the Nigerian Liquefied Natural Gas Limited, and the winner of the Edwin Walker Prize for 1988 of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, United Kingdom. Since 2013 till date, he has mentored student teams which design and build Shell Eco-marathon Competition vehicles. He has supervised over one hundred M.Sc/Ph.D students. Prof. Ibhadode is a Fellow of the Nigerian Academy of Science; Fellow of the Nigerian Society of Engineers; Fellow of the Materials Science and Technology Society of Nigeria, and Fellow of the Solar Energy Society of Nigeria, Chartered Engineer of the Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria; editor and reviewer of a number of journals among which is the International Journal of Engineering Research in Africa (JERA) published by Trans Tech Publications, Switzerland which he founded in 2009 and is the Editor-in-Chief.