Nobel Prize-winning IntechOpen Authors - Advancing the Frontiers of Knowledge

31 October 2022

Carl Sagan — 'Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.'

Early October means Nobel Prize season. From the first award in 1901, the Nobel became one of the world's most well-regarded and prestigious awards and each year honours scientists in Physiology and Medicine, Physics and Chemistry.

As publishers of high-quality, peer-reviewed research across a broad range of scientific disciplines, we stand at the forefront of scientific discoveries with our community. We are pleased to work closely with great minds from across science, providing them the best support and the Open Access publishing model so that their work reaches as many people as possible.

With the awards season behind us, this is an excellent opportunity to present the work of renowned scientists who either won the award or were nominated, and who published their research with IntechOpen bringing significant contributions to their respective fields and making it open and available to everyone. 

Nobel Laureates 

Gerard ’t Hooft

Gerard ’t Hooft was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 1999 along with Martinus Veltman “for elucidating the quantum structure of electroweak interactions in physics”.

In the 1960s scientists formulated a unified theory for electromagnetic interaction and a weak force, two of four fundamental forces in physics, calling it electroweak force. Gerard t'Hooft and Martinus Veltman developed a mathematical theory explaining this new electroweak interaction. Their research enabled scientists to predict the properties of both the subatomic particles that constitute the universe and the fundamental forces through which they interact. 

Dr. Hooft published with IntechOpen a chapter on  Ontology in Quantum Mechanics in 2021, in the book Topics on Quantum Information Science.

Gérard Mourou

Gérard Mourou was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 along with Donna Strickland “for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses.”

Mourou and Strickland succeeded in dramatically increasing the power of lasers by creating ultrashort, high-intensity pulses, known as the Chirped Pulse Amplification technique. This opened many possibilities for lasers’ applications across science, from taking ultrafast images at the molecular level to making some cancer treatments and corrective eye surgeries more precise, less damaging to tissue, and overall more effective.

Dr. Mourou published a chapter with IntechOpen on Second Harmonic Generation under Strong Influence of Dispersion and Cubic Nonlinearity Effects in 2010, in the book Coherence and Ultrashort Pulse Laser Emission.

Yoshinori Ohsumi

Yoshinori Ohsumi was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2016 “for his discoveries of mechanisms for autophagy”.

A naturally occurring destructive mechanism, autophagy, disassembles unnecessary or dysfunctional cellular components in a regulated way. One of life’s fundamental processes, the importance of autophagy in physiology and medicine, was only realized after Ohsumi began his research in the 1990s. His discoveries opened the path to better understanding the fundamental importance of autophagy in many physiological processes, such as in the adaptation to starvation or response to infection. 

Dr. Ohsumi published a chapter with IntechOpen on Crystallographic Studies on Autophagy-Related Proteins in 2011, in the book Current Trends in X-Ray Crystallography. 

Harold W. Kroto

Harold W. Kroto was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1996 along with Robert Curl and Richard Smalley “for their discovery of fullerenes”.

A fullerene is a pure carbon molecule composed of at least 60 atoms of carbon. Its discoverey by Kroto, Curl, and Smalley opened a new branch of chemistry. The team discovered it in an experiment in which they irradiated a surface of graphene to produce carbon gas which, after condensation formed a previously unknown structure. Due to their properties and physical characteristics, fullerenes have various applications such as surface coating, conductive devices, a broad set of (bio)medical applications, and others.

Dr. Kroto published two chapters with IntechOpen: Strategies to Successfully Cross-Link Carbon Nanotubes in 2011, in the book Electronic Properties of Carbon Nanotubes and Interconnecting Carbon Nanotubes for a Sustainable Economy in 2013, in the book Syntheses and Applications of Carbon Nanotubes and Their Composites.

Nobel Prize Nominees

Fabio Gabrielli

Together with the biochemist Massimo Cocchi and the biomathematician Lucio Tonello, Fabio Gabrielli, philosopher and anthropologist, was nominated for the Nobel award in Medicine in 2015 for research on biological markers of major depression and bipolar syndrome.

These three Nobel nominees published a chapter with IntechOpen on The Molecular and Quantum Approach to Psychopathology and Consciousness — From Theory to Experimental Practice in 2015 in the book Major Depressive Disorder - Cognitive and Neurobiological Mechanisms. 

Besides being an author, Dr. Gabrielli edited Open Access book Anxiety, Uncertainty, and Resilience During the Pandemic Period - Anthropological and Psychological Perspectives and is a co-editor for IntechOpen’s upcoming book Happiness and Wellness - Biopsychosocial and Anthropological Perspectives expected to be published in December 2022.

We are incredibly proud to have published with these scientists and even prouder that their work is Open Access and available for anyone to read and build upon. It’s a tangible demonstration of the quality of our books, that they are part of the knowledge shared among the world’s most respected scientists and academics.

Our ongoing commitment to providing an Open Access environment that brings together the brightest minds means scientists can maximize their contribution to scientific and societal advancement. We believe that by opening up access to the world’s scientific research articles and book chapters, we aim to facilitate a greater opportunity for collaboration, scientific discovery and progress. 

If you are interested in republishing news or speaking with us, please contact our Marketing Department at